The Ben Franklin Standard

Public Service Encodings

Since the publication of this cartoon by Ben Franklin in 1754, the structure and evolution of civil names in Federal Territory has followed the same standard conventions. By the time Ben Franklin leaned down to sign his name to the Declaration of Independence twenty-two years later, the data base, and its cartoon-generated schema had grown from the original four (4) to Thirteen Colonies which would become in time sixteen (16) areas of Federal Jurisdiction.

The alignment inherent in Franklin's elegant original design shines through today, although Federal Territory has (at least) sixty (60) components for strategic planning and performance reporting purposes containing (at least) 3,295 named entities.

"JOIN, or DIE." Image Map by Ben Franklin circa 1754

Image Map Key
Form Control
Area Element

Select List
Form Control

Ordered List
Form Control

  1. Massachusetts
  2. New England
  3. Rhode Island
  4. Virginia

The Present Day
Text Listing(s)*

* opens in a new browser tab

County Equivalents
Aggregate of 1754 Map

Text Listing

* opens in a new browser tab

Image Map Key